• Congratulations, Rosie Wong!

    Grace Yoga [GY]: Please describe your journey to yoga:
    Rosie Wong [RW]: Growing up in a rural town 80 miles outside Reno, sports were all there was to do, so I grew up playing different sports in school. I kept pretty active, going to the gym and long distance running. That all stopped after moving here to the Bay Area 7 years ago. I started a job that was physically hard on my body and feet, so the gym or any type of  movement outside of work wasn’t going to happen—until this past summer. My dad suffered a heart attack and it put  my own health in perspective real fast, especially since heart disease runs in my family. So, I started running 4 days a week along with barre classes. I was losing weight but I still wasn’t feeling strong enough—and that’s when I looked up yoga and what the benefits were. I then googled “yoga studios near me” and the first thing that came up on my feed was Grace Yoga. I had no idea what any of the poses were and wasn’t sure I was going to like it! That was until I met Dana on my first day (after calling the studio that morning a million times!) I took her 3pm Tuesday class and haven’t stopped going since! I fell in love instantly.

    GY: What additional benefits have you gained from your yoga practice that may not be offered in another form of exercise?
    RW: One of the biggest benefits I gained from yoga has been how much the visits to my chiropractor have decreased . I used to go  twice  a week every week for my lower back  and my problematic neck. That all has gotten so much better since I started my yoga journey.

GY: What is your approach to the New Year and/or resolutions in the present, what was it in the past and what do you think it will be in the future?
    RW: I’m not a huge believer in New Year's resolutions. I like to set personal goals and try to stick to them. With starting my health journey last year and making that a priority has been a challenge and a goal all in itself. It’s hard! It’s hard to get up in the mornings when you know everyone is still sleeping— I’m  running  laps around my neighborhood when all I want to do is stay in bed and watch Bravo TV!

    GY: Please tell us a little about yourself: career,family, background and anything else interesting you would like us to know.
    RW: I’m  originally from  Nevada. I’m the second youngest out of 6 kids. My family and siblings all still live in Nevada except my youngest brother (he lives in Santa Cruz, CA). After high school, I went to beauty school and started my salon career with Aveda. I met my husband of four years, seven years ago on 9/11/2011 and together we moved to Millbrae. I took a corporate job with Aveda and worked with them for four years as a color and cutting instructor. I’m currently taking a break from work to spend more time with my toy poodle Gizmo who lives in Nevada, family, go to a Giants game during the week and not feel bad about it, and to travel more with my husband. My husband and I set a goal when I started my break from work: to travel and visit all the Disney resorts around the world. There are currently six and we have three down— three to go!